Quick verdict
A beginner pole saw is a 20V kit with the battery and charger in the box, an 8-inch bar and a cut limit around 6 inches, which covers nearly every limb a homeowner should take from the ground. The BLACK+DECKER LPP120 is the simplest complete kit; the Skil PWR CORE 20 removes the wrench with tool-less tensioning and an auto oiler; the DeWalt DCPS620 bundle brings a brushless motor and a 4Ah pack for a yard with more trees.

BLACK+DECKER LPP120 20V MAX 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Kit
A first pole saw should arrive complete and ask nothing of the buyer, and the LPP120 does: the 20V MAX battery, the charger, an oil bottle, a wrench and a blade guard are all in the box. The 8-inch bar is rated for a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inches, BLACK+DECKER rates a charge at up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine, and the center extension sets the saw at 6.5 feet or 10 feet for an overhead reach of up to 14 feet. It is the plainest kit here and that is the point.
The best pole saws for beginners: BLACK+DECKER LPP120 20V kit, Skil PWR CORE 20 8-inch kit and the DeWalt DCPS620 brushless bundle, compared on what is in the box, bar size, reach and chain upkeep.
The picks at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Score /100 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| BLACK+DECKER LPP120 20V MAX 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Kit | Best Overall for Beginners | 8.7 | Check price |
| Skil PWR CORE 20 8-Inch Pole Saw Kit with 2.0Ah Battery (PS4563B-10) | Easiest Chain Upkeep | 8.8 | Check price |
| DeWalt DCPS620 20V MAX XR Brushless Pole Saw with 4Ah Battery and Charger | Best Step-Up Kit | 8.6 | Check price |
The picks, reviewed

BLACK+DECKER LPP120 20V MAX 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Kit
A first pole saw should arrive complete and ask nothing of the buyer, and the LPP120 does: the 20V MAX battery, the charger, an oil bottle, a wrench and a blade guard are all in the box. The 8-inch bar is rated for a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inches, BLACK+DECKER rates a charge at up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine, and the center extension sets the saw at 6.5 feet or 10 feet for an overhead reach of up to 14 feet. It is the plainest kit here and that is the point.
Reasons to buy
- Battery, charger, oil and wrench in the box
- 8-inch bar, 6-inch cut capacity
- 6.5 or 10 ft length, 14 ft reach
- Up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine per charge
Reasons to avoid
- Chain is tensioned with the wrench
- Battery capacity not stated
- No pivoting head listed

Skil PWR CORE 20 8-Inch Pole Saw Kit with 2.0Ah Battery (PS4563B-10)
The chain is the part that puts beginners off, and the Skil handles it for them with tool-less chain tensioning and an auto-lubricating bar, so there is no wrench and no manual oiling between cuts. The aluminum shaft extends 3.5 feet to take the saw from 6.5 feet to 10 feet, the 8-inch head pivots through 135 degrees with 8 locking positions, and the kit includes a 2.0Ah PWR CORE 20 battery and charger.
Reasons to buy
- Tool-less chain tensioning
- Auto-lubricating bar and chain
- 135-degree pivoting head, 8 positions
- 2.0Ah battery and charger included
Reasons to avoid
- 2.0Ah pack is the smallest here
- Overhead reach figure not stated
- Shoulder strap not listed

DeWalt DCPS620 20V MAX XR Brushless Pole Saw with 4Ah Battery and Charger
For the beginner who already knows the yard will keep them busy, the DeWalt bundle pairs the brushless DCPS620 with a 4Ah battery and charger. The 8-inch low-kickback bar and chain is auto oiled, the extension pole takes the reach up to 15 feet, and the head carries a metal bucking strip and a tree hook for pulling cut limbs down out of the canopy. It costs the most of the three.
Reasons to buy
- Brushless motor
- 4Ah battery and charger in the bundle
- Up to 15 ft reach
- Tree hook and bucking strip on the head
Reasons to avoid
- Highest price here
- Chain tension method not stated
- Weight not stated
Why a beginner wants a 20V kit
The first pole saw most people buy is for a few limbs a year: the branch rubbing the gutter, the low limb over the walk, the storm break hanging in the maple. That job does not need a 56V saw or a gas engine. It needs a 20V cordless kit that arrives with its battery and charger, an 8-inch bar that will not bind in limbs up to about 6 inches, a pole that reaches 14 feet or so, and chain upkeep simple enough that it actually gets done. The three saws here are the 20V kits that fit that description, from the plainest to the most capable.
This guide is built from the published specifications of each saw and from recurring owner feedback. We have not run these saws ourselves.
How the three compare
| Saw | Bar | Battery | Reach | Chain tension |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLACK+DECKER LPP120 | 8 in, 6 in cut | 20V MAX, included | Up to 14 ft | Wrench included |
| Skil PWR CORE 20 | 8 in, pivoting head | 20V 2.0Ah, included | 6.5 to 10 ft pole | Tool-less |
| DeWalt DCPS620 | 8 in, low kickback | 20V MAX 4Ah, included | Up to 15 ft | Not stated |
BLACK+DECKER LPP120: the plain complete kit
The LPP120 is the saw to buy when the question is which one just works: a 20V MAX battery, its charger, a bottle of bar oil, the wrench and a blade guard are all in the box. The 8-inch bar is rated for a 6-inch maximum cut, BLACK+DECKER rates a charge at up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine, and the center extension sets the saw to 6.5 feet or 10 feet for up to 14 feet of overhead reach. The chain is tensioned with the included wrench rather than a dial, and the listing does not give the battery capacity or mention a pivoting head, so this is the kit for a few limbs a season rather than a long afternoon.
Skil PWR CORE 20: no wrench, no manual oiling
The two chores beginners skip are tightening the chain and oiling it, and the Skil removes both: chain tension is tool-less and the bar is auto-lubricating from a reservoir. The 8-inch head pivots through 135 degrees with 8 lock positions, which lets the bar sit flat on a limb that is not straight overhead, and the aluminum shaft snaps out 3.5 feet to take the saw from 6.5 feet to 10 feet. The kit ships with a 2.0Ah PWR CORE 20 pack and charger; Skil says its cell cooling gives 25 percent longer runtime, but 2.0Ah is still the smallest pack here, so plan on charging between sessions.
DeWalt DCPS620 bundle: brushless with a 4Ah pack
The DeWalt bundle is the kit for a beginner with a bigger yard. The DCPS620 is brushless, the 8-inch bar and chain is a low-kickback full-complement type with automatic oiling, and the extension pole takes the reach up to 15 feet. The head carries a metal bucking strip for steadier cuts and a tree hook for pulling a cut limb free of the canopy. The 4Ah battery and charger in the bundle give twice the capacity of the Skil pack, and the pack runs DeWalt 20V MAX drills and trimmers. It costs the most, and DeWalt does not publish the tensioning method or the weight in the listing.
Making the first cuts safely
Stand to one side of the limb, never under it, with both feet on the ground; a pole saw exists so the ladder stays in the garage. For any limb thicker than your wrist, make three cuts: a shallow undercut a foot out from the trunk, a top cut a little further out to drop the weight, then a final cut just outside the branch collar. Let the chain reach full speed before it touches wood and do not lever the bar. Keep the pole at least 10 feet from any power line, and stop when a limb starts to pinch the bar rather than pulling harder. Oil the chain before every session on a saw without an auto oiler, check tension when the chain starts to droop, and recharge the pack before storing it.
Which one should you buy
Buy the BLACK+DECKER LPP120 for the simplest complete kit for a few limbs a year. Buy the Skil PWR CORE 20 for tool-less tensioning, an auto oiler and a pivoting head. Buy the DeWalt DCPS620 bundle for a brushless saw with a 4Ah pack and 15 feet of reach.
How we research
This guide is built from the published specifications, manuals and warranty terms of each product and from recurring owner feedback. We have not run these products ourselves; where a maker does not publish a figure we say so rather than guess.
What to look for
Complete kit
Battery and charger in the box. A bare tool saves money only if you already own that brand of 20V pack.
8-inch bar
Eight inches cuts limbs up to about 6 inches and keeps the head light enough to hold overhead.
Chain upkeep
Tool-less tensioning and an auto oiler mean no wrench and no manual oiling, the two jobs new users skip.
Reach
A 10-foot pole gives 14 to 15 feet of overhead reach. Higher than that is a job for a tree service, not a longer pole.
Our verdict
A beginner pole saw is a 20V kit with the battery and charger in the box, an 8-inch bar and a cut limit around 6 inches, which covers nearly every limb a homeowner should take from the ground. The BLACK+DECKER LPP120 is the simplest complete kit; the Skil PWR CORE 20 removes the wrench with tool-less tensioning and an auto oiler; the DeWalt DCPS620 bundle brings a brushless motor and a 4Ah pack for a yard with more trees.
FAQs
Up to about 6 inches with an 8-inch bar. Cut thicker limbs in sections from the outside in, or leave them to a tree service.
Yes. Saws with an auto oiler do it from a reservoir you top up; others need bar oil applied by hand before and during use.
No. A pole saw is made so you stay on the ground. Both feet planted, saw to one side of your body, never directly under the limb.
BLACK+DECKER rates the LPP120 at up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine per charge. Thicker or harder wood cuts that number down fast.






