Quick verdict
UL-classified chainsaw chaps meeting ASTM F1897-20 and ASTM F3325-20 with an eight-layer pad, six cut-resistant layers and two of cushioning, under a 1050 denier PU-coated polyester shell with 3M reflective stripes and YKK or ITW buckles. They suit the homeowner who wants certified protection for an occasional saw at a lower price than the forestry brands. The caveat is the unknown brand: no track record, no stated chain speed rating and only two sizes.
Strengths
- UL classified to ASTM F1897-20 and F3325-20, the current standards
- Eight-layer pad with six anti-cut layers
- 1050 denier PU-coated shell
- 3M reflective stripes for low light
- YKK or ITW buckles
- Two pockets
Weaknesses
- Little-known brand with no long service record
- Only two sizes, medium 36 to 38 and large 40 to 42 inch
- Chain speed rating not stated
- Buckle brand varies between YKK and ITW per the listing
The overall YardToolLab Score is out of 100. Section scores are out of 10.
Who these chaps are for
The saw that comes out for a storm limb and a few rounds of firewood does the same damage as a logger’s saw, and the owner usually has no chaps at all because the forestry brands cost more than the saw did. YARDMARIS sells into that gap: UL-classified chaps that meet the current ASTM standards at a price below Husqvarna and Stihl. The question with any young brand is whether the paperwork is matched by the build, and this review works through what the listing supports and what it does not.
This review is based on the maker’s published specifications and on recurring owner feedback. We have not run this product ourselves.
What you get
One pair of chaps in orange and black, in medium for a 36 to 38 inch measurement or large for 40 to 42 inches. The pad is an eight-layer system, six layers of cut-resistant fabric and two of cushioning, that the maker describes as using Swedish technology. The shell is 1050 denier polyester with a PU coating. Buckles are from YKK or ITW, reflective stripes are 3M, and there are two pockets sized for a phone, wallet and small tools. The listing is explicit that the chaps meet the 2020 editions of the standards rather than the 2014 editions.
Protection and certification
UL classification to ASTM F1897-20 is the meaningful line in this listing. It means an independent certifier ran the standard chain-contact procedure and the pad stopped the chain within the criteria, and it is the same benchmark the big names cite. ASTM F3325-20 is the companion specification that defines leg protection coverage classes; the Class A designation typically denotes the standard front-of-leg coverage rather than a full wrap around the calf, so the technical wrap name in the title should be read with that in mind and checked against the photos. The eight-layer count is not directly comparable to Husqvarna’s five layers of Tek Warp, since pad materials differ and the certification is what counts. What is missing is a chain speed rating; the standard involves a chain speed criterion and the maker does not quote the figure.
Fit and sizing
Two sizes is thin coverage of the population. The 36 to 38 and 40 to 42 inch figures appear to be length bands, as the maker gives them against medium and large, but the listing does not state whether they measure waist or waist-to-ankle length. Measure both, compare to the photos and the size notes on the product page, and if you fall between the two bands or outside them, these are not the right chaps. Owners of lower-cost chaps as a class report that the belt and leg straps are the weak point for fit: adequate, but fiddly to get snug around a boot.
Build, pockets and visibility
The 1050 denier PU-coated shell is on paper a shade heavier than the 1000 denier used on the Husqvarna Technical line, and PU coating sheds water and sap in the same way as PVC. Naming YKK or ITW for the buckles and 3M for the reflective tape is a good sign; those are the suppliers the forestry brands use, and cheap chaps usually say nothing. The either-or on buckle brand means the pair you receive may differ from a friend’s. The reflective stripes are a genuine plus for dusk work at the woodpile or roadside clean-up. Two pockets is more than most apron chaps carry.
Living with them
Wear them for every cut. Brush off chips, hang them to dry and follow the care instructions on the label; detergent and machine washing can coat the protective fibers on any chaps. After any contact that reaches the pad, replace them. With a young brand, keep the packaging and note the UL file details printed on the label, since that is your proof of certification if a question arises. Warranty terms are not given in the listing.
Alternatives to Consider
The Husqvarna Technical Apron chaps are the step up, with a long service record, a wider size run and a felling wedge pocket. The Husqvarna Functional Apron chaps are the maker’s entry tier and close the price gap to this pair. Forester chainsaw chaps are another US option with more sizes for the occasional user.
Verdict
Buy the YARDMARIS 8-layer chaps if you have no chaps today, your measurement sits inside the medium or large band and you want UL-classified protection at the lowest price that still carries the current ASTM marks. Skip them if you run a saw most weekends, work on slopes or want a size run and a brand history behind the label; the Husqvarna pair is the safer long-term buy.
Full specifications
YARDMARIS Technical Wrap Chainsaw Chaps, UL Class A, 8 Layers, Orange Black, Medium or Large FAQs
The listing states UL classification to ASTM F1897-20 and ASTM F3325-20 and compliance with OSHA 1910.266. Check the label on the pair you receive for the UL mark and file details.
In the ASTM F3325 scheme the class typically describes the area of the leg the pad covers, with Class A being the standard front-of-leg coverage rather than a full wrap. Confirm coverage against the product photos.
Medium is listed for 36 to 38 inches and large for 40 to 42. The listing does not say whether that is waist or leg length, so measure both and compare with the size notes on the product page before ordering.
Both cite ASTM F1897. The Husqvarna pair has a longer service record, more sizes and a known pad material; this pair costs less and adds reflective stripes and two pockets.


