Quick verdict
A complete 16 inch battery chainsaw kit from a budget brand: a 2000W native 40V brushless motor, two 4.0 Ah packs, a charger that takes both at once, an auto oiler and tool-free tensioning. It suits a homeowner who wants everything in one box for storm limbs and light firewood. The caveat is a safety one: the listing never mentions a chain brake, and the chain speed is modest for the class.
Strengths
- Two 40V 4.0 Ah packs and a dual charger in the box
- Native 40V brushless motor rather than two 20V packs in series
- Automatic oiler with a 150 ml reservoir
- Tool-free chain tensioning
- 16 inch bar suits firewood rounds and storm limbs
Weaknesses
- Listing does not mention a chain brake
- Chain speed of 34.8 ft/s is modest next to major brands
- Proprietary packs with no wider platform
- Weight, chain pitch and gauge are not stated
The overall YardToolLab Score is out of 100. Section scores are out of 10.
Who this chainsaw is for
A homeowner who bucks a cord or two of firewood a year, clears storm limbs and does not want to fight a pull cord has two paths: a tool-only saw on a battery platform they already own, or a complete kit from a budget brand. The SEESII 40V 16 inch chainsaw is the second kind. It arrives with two 40V 4.0 Ah packs and a dual charger, a 16 inch bar, a brushless motor and the usual conveniences of auto oiling and tool-free tensioning. It is for the buyer who wants everything in one box and is willing to trade brand support for that.
This review is based on the maker’s published specifications and on recurring owner feedback. We have not run this product ourselves.
What you get
SEESII lists a native 40V brushless motor rated at 2000 watts, a chain speed of 34.8 feet per second, a 16 inch guide bar, two 40V 4.0 Ah batteries, a charger that takes both packs at once, an automatic oiler with a 150 ml reservoir and a tool-free tensioning knob. The maker claims cutting efficiency comparable to a 42 cc gas saw and up to 90 minutes of runtime from the pair of packs. The batteries are 40V only and do not fit 20V tools from the same brand. The listing does not state the saw’s weight, the chain pitch or gauge, and it does not mention a chain brake. That last omission is worth a direct question to the seller before buying.
Cutting and power
Two thousand watts and a 16 inch bar put this saw in the middle of the battery chainsaw class on paper, and the maker makes a point that it runs on a single 40V pack rather than two 20V packs in series, which avoids the sag some paired-pack saws show under load. A chain speed of 34.8 feet per second is modest; established 56V and 80V saws quote roughly double that, and chain speed is what makes a saw feel quick in the cut. Owners of budget 40V saws in this class describe clean work in limbs and seasoned logs up to the bar length and a slower, grabbier cut in green hardwood. The 42 cc comparison is the maker’s claim and should be read as the upper bound for seasoned softwood.
Runtime and batteries
Two 4.0 Ah packs at 40V hold about 320 watt-hours between them, which is a generous amount of energy for a 16 inch saw. The 90 minute figure is a maker claim with no stated load; in continuous bucking of hardwood expect well under that, and in intermittent limbing expect closer to it. The dual charger means both packs recharge together while you stack wood, which is the real convenience of this kit. The packs are proprietary to SEESII, so the platform argument that sells EGO or Ryobi does not apply here.
Build, handling and ergonomics
Tool-free tensioning through a side knob is the right design for a homeowner saw; a chain that is checked and snugged at every battery swap lasts far longer. The oil reservoir of 150 ml is on the small side and will need topping off every couple of packs. Owners of similar imports report decent balance with a pack fitted and plastics that feel lighter than a brand saw, with the bar and chain often the first parts replaced. The absence of a stated chain brake, inertia or manual, is the one real safety gap on the listing.
Living with it
Use bar and chain oil, not motor oil, and keep the reservoir full since the auto oiler only works when it has something to pump. Sharpen the chain by hand with a file guide every few sessions; a dull chain on a battery saw costs runtime as well as speed. A 16 inch bar in the low-profile family is a common size, so replacement chains should be available once you confirm pitch, gauge and drive link count from the bar stamp. Store the packs indoors at partial charge.
Alternatives to Consider
The Greenworks 40V 16 inch brushless chainsaw kit is the brand name equivalent with a wide tool platform and a published chain brake. The Ryobi 40V 16 inch brushless chainsaw, sold tool-only, suits anyone who already owns Ryobi packs. For more cutting speed and heavier wood, the EGO Power+ CS1810 on a 56V 5.0 Ah or larger pack is the step up.
Verdict
Buy the SEESII 40V 16 inch kit if you want two packs, a dual charger and a 16 inch saw for firewood and storm cleanup in one box at a low price, and you have confirmed with the seller that it has a chain brake. Skip it if you already own a major battery platform, cut green hardwood regularly, or want a saw whose parts and support will still be around in five years.
Full specifications
SEESII 40V 16-Inch Brushless Cordless Chainsaw with Two 4.0 Ah Batteries and Dual Charger FAQs
The listing does not say. Every feature bullet covers the motor, batteries, oiler and tensioning, and none mentions a brake. Ask the seller directly before buying; a chainsaw without a brake that stops the chain on kickback is not a safe tool for a new user.
It is the maker's claim with no cutting load stated. Intermittent limbing on two 4.0 Ah packs may approach it; continuous bucking of hardwood will use the packs far faster. Treat it as an upper bound.
No. The listing states the saw and charger work with the brand's 40V packs only, not 20V.
That is the maker's comparison. Expect the saw to keep pace in seasoned softwood and smaller rounds and to lag a 42 cc gas saw in green hardwood, where chain speed and sustained torque matter most.


