🍂 Fall 2026 cleanup season: leaf blowers, dethatchers and winter prep gear, freshly ranked
Home / Cordless Chainsaws / RYOBI 40V 16-Inch Brushless Chainsaw Reviewed: The Tool-Only Saw for Ryobi Battery Owners
★ BEST TOOL-ONLY SAW FOR RYOBI OWNERS

RYOBI 40V 16-Inch Brushless Chainsaw Reviewed: The Tool-Only Saw for Ryobi Battery Owners

KOReviewed by Kevin O'Neil★★★★★ 82/100
We research and compare tools and earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Quick verdict

A tool-only 16 inch brushless chainsaw for the Ryobi 40V platform, with an automatic chain brake, an automatic oiler and side-access tensioning. It suits a homeowner who already owns Ryobi 40V packs from a mower or trimmer and needs a saw for storm cleanup and light firewood. The caveat is the empty box: without a 4.0 Ah or larger pack already in the garage, a kit from another brand is the better buy.

🏆 Check today's price on AmazonCheck price on Amazon →

Strengths

  • Brushless motor with a 16 inch bar for homeowner firewood and limbing
  • Automatic chain brake and automatic oiler
  • Side-access tensioning with on-board storage for the wrench
  • Runs on Ryobi 40V packs from mowers, blowers and trimmers
  • Tool-only price for owners already on the platform

Weaknesses

  • No battery or charger; a 4.0 Ah or larger pack is needed
  • Listing states no chain speed, weight or pack recommendation
  • Side-access tensioning needs the wrench, not tool-free
  • Oiler is generous and leaves drips in storage
Cutting power
8.2/10
Platform and batteries
8.6/10
Build quality
8.1/10
Value
8.3/10

The overall YardToolLab Score is out of 100. Section scores are out of 10.

Who this chainsaw is for

If there are already Ryobi 40V packs in the garage from a mower, a trimmer or a blower, the cheapest way to get a capable saw is a tool-only body that uses them. The RYOBI 40V 16 inch brushless chainsaw is that body. It is sold without a battery or charger, carries a 16 inch bar and chain, a brushless motor, an automatic chain brake and an automatic oiler, and it is meant for the homeowner who limbs, bucks storm damage and cuts a modest amount of firewood rather than fells timber.

This review is based on the maker’s published specifications and on recurring owner feedback. We have not run this product ourselves.

What you get

The saw, bar and chain are the contents of the tool-only box; check the listing for a scabbard, since Ryobi does not mention one. Ryobi states a 16 inch bar and chain, a brushless motor it describes as delivering power on par with gas, an automatic chain brake, an automatic oiler, side-access chain tensioning and on-board storage, which on Ryobi saws typically holds the bar wrench. The listing does not state chain speed, weight, oil tank capacity, chain pitch or gauge, or a recommended pack size, so those figures should come from the manual on the product page.

Cutting and power

A brushless 40V motor behind a 16 inch bar is the right pairing for logs up to about a foot across and limbs of any size a homeowner should be tackling. Owners of Ryobi’s 40V brushless saws describe steady cutting in seasoned oak and maple rounds, a willingness to pull through without forcing, and the normal battery-saw behavior of slowing when the chain dulls rather than stalling outright. Ryobi’s gas comparison is marketing; what matters is that it is a clear step above the brushed 40V saws the brand sold earlier and comfortably above any 18V saw.

Runtime and batteries

Runtime depends entirely on the pack you own. A 4.0 Ah 40V pack holds about 144 watt-hours and is the sensible minimum for a 16 inch saw; a 6.0 Ah pack adds both runtime and a little more sustained power under load, and most owners who cut firewood settle on the larger packs. A small 2.0 Ah pack from a trimmer kit will run it, briefly, and sag in hard cuts. The upside of the platform is breadth: the same packs run Ryobi’s 40V mowers, blowers, trimmers and snow blowers, which is the argument for a tool-only saw in the first place.

Build, handling and ergonomics

Side-access tensioning with a stored wrench is a step behind the tool-free knobs on some rivals, but it holds tension more reliably once set, which many owners prefer. The automatic chain brake is the essential safety feature and Ryobi lists it clearly. The automatic oiler keeps the bar wet; owners report it is generous, so expect to refill often and to see oil on the shelf if the saw is stored flat. Weight is not stated; a 16 inch 40V saw with a pack fitted is typically a two-handed tool in the low teens of pounds.

Living with it

Use bar and chain oil, keep the chain sharp with a round file and guide, and check tension before every session since a new chain stretches quickly. Replacement bars and chains in the 16 inch size are easy to find once you read the pitch, gauge and drive link count stamped on the bar. Ryobi publishes a tool warranty for this saw; register it, since the term is longer than most budget brands offer.

Alternatives to Consider

The Greenworks 40V 16 inch brushless chainsaw is the direct rival for anyone not already on Ryobi packs, with a similar spec and kit options. The EGO Power+ CS1611 is the step up in chain speed and cutting pace, on EGO’s 56V packs. For heavier firewood work, Ryobi’s own 40V HP 18 inch brushless saw is the bigger body on the same batteries.

Verdict

Buy the RYOBI 40V 16 inch brushless chainsaw if you already own Ryobi 40V packs of 4.0 Ah or larger and want a capable homeowner saw with a real chain brake and auto oiler for storm cleanup and light firewood. Skip it if you have no Ryobi batteries, since a kit from another brand will be the better buy, or if you cut large hardwood regularly and want a longer bar and a faster chain.

Full specifications

Bar length16 in
MotorBrushless
Battery40V Ryobi packs, not included
Chain brakeAutomatic
OilerAutomatic
TensioningSide-access, with on-board wrench storage
KitTool only, no battery or charger
BrandRYOBI

RYOBI 40-Volt 16-Inch Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Chainsaw (Tool Only) FAQs

What size Ryobi 40V battery should I use?

Ryobi does not name one on this listing. A 4.0 Ah pack is the sensible minimum for a 16 inch saw; a 6.0 Ah pack gives longer sessions and steadier power in hard cuts. A 2.0 Ah trimmer pack will run it briefly and sag under load.

Does it have a chain brake?

Yes. Ryobi lists an automatic chain brake, the hand-guard type that stops the chain when it is pushed forward or on kickback.

Is it really as powerful as a gas saw?

That is Ryobi's framing. A brushless 40V motor on a 16 inch bar is strong for homeowner limbing and bucking, and well above the brushed 40V saws Ryobi sold earlier. It is not a 50 cc felling saw.

What replacement chain fits?

The listing does not state pitch, gauge or drive link count. Read the stamp on the bar; 16 inch low-profile chains are among the most common sizes sold, so matching one is straightforward once you have those three figures.

🔍 Research-based review. We assess this product using manufacturer specifications, official manuals and recurring owner feedback. It is not presented as a YardToolLab in-depth test unless original test evidence is shown on this page.
KO

Related buying advice