🍂 Fall 2026 cleanup season: leaf blowers, dethatchers and winter prep gear, freshly ranked
Home / Cordless Lawn Mowers / What the KraftSense 18-Inch 80V Max Self-Propelled Mower Does Well and Where It Falls Short
★ BUDGET SELF-PROPEL FOR SMALL SLOPES

What the KraftSense 18-Inch 80V Max Self-Propelled Mower Does Well and Where It Falls Short

MSReviewed by Mike Sullivan★★★★★ 75/100
We research and compare tools and earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Quick verdict

An 18-inch brushless self-propelled mower that runs two 40V Max 4.0 Ah packs together for 80V Max and 296 Wh, with drive from 1.3 to 2.9 mph, a 2-in-1 deck, a 50 L bag and six heights from 1 to 3 inches. It suits a quarter-acre lawn with a slope or two where pushing has become a chore. The caveat is the 30-minute rating and the fact that both packs are needed for every cut.

🏆 Check today's price on AmazonCheck price on Amazon →

Strengths

  • Self-propelled drive adjustable from 1.3 to 2.9 mph
  • Two 40V Max 4.0 Ah packs, 296 Wh total, with charger
  • Brushless motor up to 3,600 rpm on an 18-inch deck
  • 2-in-1 mulch or bag with a 50 L collector
  • Stated 3-year tool and 1-year battery warranty

Weaknesses

  • Up to 30 minutes per charge with no spare pack to swap
  • Top height of 3 inches is low for tall-cut lawns
  • No side discharge
  • Weight and deck material not stated
Cutting power
7.6/10
Runtime
7/10
Build quality
7.3/10
Value
8/10

The overall YardToolLab Score is out of 100. Section scores are out of 10.

Who this mower is for

The step from a push mower to a self-propelled one usually means a 21-inch deck and a much bigger outlay. KraftSense’s 18-inch 80V Max self-propelled mower is for the owner of a quarter-acre lot with a slope who wants the drive without the size: the same two-pack 80V Max system and brushless motor as the brand’s push model, with an adjustable drive added. It is a budget-brand kit, and the spec sheet is honest about its limits.

This review is based on the maker’s published specifications and on recurring owner feedback. We have not run this product ourselves.

What you get

The box holds the mower, two 40V Max 4.0 Ah lithium packs and a charger. KraftSense puts the pair at 296 watt-hours of total energy. The motor is brushless and spins up to 3,600 rpm, the deck is 18 inches, and the self-propel drive adjusts from 1.3 to 2.9 mph. The deck mulches or rear bags into a 50 L collector and moves through six heights from 1.0 to 3.0 inches. KraftSense states a 3-year tool warranty and a 1-year battery warranty. Weight, deck material and whether the drive is front or rear wheel are not stated in the listing.

What it does well

The drive is the reason to buy. An adjustable range from 1.3 to 2.9 mph covers a slow crawl for slopes and tight corners and a proper walking pace on open grass, which is more adjustment than some pricier mowers offer. Eighty volts across an 18-inch blade at up to 3,600 rpm is plenty for weekly growth, and the narrow deck is easy to steer around beds. The 50 L bag is a fair size for the width. A stated 3-year tool warranty is unusual in this bracket, and the brand’s listing is candid that runtime and coverage vary with conditions, which is more than many budget rivals manage.

Where it falls short

Thirty minutes is the ceiling, and self-propel draws power, so a thick spring lawn at the quarter-acre mark will push the packs to their limit. Because the two packs run together, there is no spare to swap in; a flat pair means waiting on the charger. The top cutting height of 3 inches is low for owners who keep fescue or warm-season grass taller in summer. There is no side discharge, so overgrown patches are mulched slowly or bagged. And the listing leaves out weight and deck material, which matter on a self-propelled machine you will still have to lift onto a trailer or over a curb.

Build, handling and ergonomics

An 18-inch self-propelled battery mower should land lighter than a 21-inch steel-deck machine, though KraftSense does not say by how much. Drive engagement is by a bail at the handle, as on most mowers in the class. A recurring note from owners of budget self-propelled mowers is to run the drive at a lower speed on turns, since the small drive wheels can scuff turf when pivoted under power, and to check handle fasteners after the first few cuts.

Living with it

No gasoline, oil or plugs. Keep the blade sharp, since a dull blade costs runtime before it shows in the cut. Scrape the deck after damp mowing. Store the packs indoors at about half charge over winter; the 1-year battery warranty is short, and careful storage is the best way to make the packs outlast it. Replacement bags and blades come from the maker.

Alternatives to Consider

The Greenworks 40V 21-inch self-propelled kit with two 4.0 Ah packs offers a wider deck and a far bigger battery platform. The PowerSmart MB2420SA 20-inch self-propelled kit is another two-pack budget option with side discharge. For a flat lot, the KraftSense 18-inch 80V Max push version saves a little and drops the drive.

Verdict

Buy the KraftSense 18-inch 80V Max self-propelled mower if your lawn is a quarter acre or less with slopes, you want adjustable drive on a narrow deck and you value a stated 3-year tool warranty. Skip it if the lawn is at the top of that range in heavy growth, you want a cut above 3 inches, or you need side discharge and a spare pack to swap.

Full specifications

Deck width18 in
BatteryTwo 40V Max 4.0 Ah, 296 Wh total
DriveSelf-propelled, 1.3 to 2.9 mph
MotorBrushless, up to 3,600 rpm
RuntimeUp to 30 min, up to 1/4 acre per maker
Height settings6, 1.0 to 3.0 in
ModesMulch or rear bag, 50 L
Warranty3 yr tool, 1 yr battery per maker

KraftSense 18-Inch 80V Max Self-Propelled Lawn Mower with Dual 40V Max 4.0 Ah Batteries and Charger FAQs

How fast does the self-propel go?

KraftSense states an adjustable range from 1.3 to 2.9 mph. The low end suits slopes and tight turns, the top end is a brisk walk on open grass.

What does 296 Wh mean for runtime?

It is the total energy in the two 4.0 Ah packs. KraftSense rates it at up to 30 minutes and a quarter acre; self-propel, thick grass and a low deck all pull that down, so plan on a smaller lawn in spring.

Does it run on one battery if the other is flat?

No. The two packs work together to supply the 80V Max system, so both must be charged and fitted.

Is the bag big enough?

The 50 L bag, about 13 gallons, is average for an 18-inch deck. On a quarter acre you will empty it several times if you bag rather than mulch.

🔍 Research-based review. We assess this product using manufacturer specifications, official manuals and recurring owner feedback. It is not presented as a YardToolLab in-depth test unless original test evidence is shown on this page.
MS

Related buying advice